2022 Pulitzer Prize Winners for Journalism


The 2022 Pulitzer Prize winners were announced on Monday, with many awards going to journalists who have covered voting and policing inequality in the United States. Two awards were also presented to journalists covering the January 6 Capitol siege.

To note : The Pulitzer Committee awarded a special citation to Ukrainian journalists for their courage and truthful reporting on the war. The awards were announced by Marjorie Miller, the new administrator of the Pulitzer Prizes.

Complete list of journalism winners and description of their awards, via the Pulitzer board:

Civil service (1917–present)

  • Winner: The Washington Post for its account of the assault on Washington on January 6, 2021.

Breaking news reporting (1998–present)

  • Winner: The staff of the Miami Herald for their coverage of the collapse of the Surfside apartment towers in Florida.

Investigative journalism (1985–present)

  • Winner: Tampa Bay Times’ Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington and Eli Murray for a briefing on the highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant that forced the implementation of safety measures to adequately protect nearby workers and residents.

Explanatory report (1998-present)

  • Winner: Quanta Magazine staff, including Natalie Wolchover, for reporting on the operation of the Webb Space Telescope.

Local reporting (1948-1952, 2007-present)

  • Winner: Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune for an examination of Chicago’s long history of failed building and fire code enforcement.

National reports (1948-present)

  • Winner: The New York Times staff for a project that quantified a disturbing pattern of fatal traffic stops by police.

International Reports (1948-present)

  • Winner: The staff of The New York Times for reporting that exposed the heavy civilian toll of US-led airstrikes, challenging official accounts of US military engagements in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan.

Feature Film Writing (1979–present)

  • Winner: Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic for a depiction of a family’s toll in the 20 years since 9/11.

Commentary (1973–present)

  • Winner: Melinda Henneberger of the Kansas City Star for her persuasive columns demanding justice for the alleged victims of a retired police detective accused of being a sexual predator.

Critic (1973–present)

  • Winner: Salamishah Tillet, reviewer for The New York Times, for writing about black histories in art and popular culture.

Editorial writing (1917-present)

  • Winner: Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle for a campaign that, with original reporting, exposed voter suppression tactics, dismissed the myth of widespread voter fraud and advocated for sensible electoral reforms .

Illustrated report and commentary

  • Winner: Insider’s Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey for a comic about a Uyghur internment camp.

Breaking News Photography (2000-present)

  • Winner: Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times for the raw and urgent footage of the US departure from Afghanistan.
  • Winner: Getty Images’ Win McNamee, Drew Angerer, Spencer Platt, Samuel Corum and Jon Cherry for comprehensive and still captivating photos from the attack on the United States Capitol.

Feature film photography (1968–present)

  • Winner: Reuters’ Danish Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Siddiqui for images of India’s COVID toll.

Audio reports (2020–present)

  • Winner: Futuro Media and PRX staff for “Suave” – ​​an immersive profile of a man re-entering society after more than 30 years in prison.

Go further:


Comments are closed.